British Writer Kazuo Ishiguro Wins 2017 Nobel Prize For Literature

LONDON — The Japanese-born British writer Kazuo Ishiguro won the 2017 Nobel Prize for Literature on Thursday, the awarding Swedish Academy said.  

Ishiguro, 62,  who’s famous  for novels such as A Pale View of Hills (1982), The Remains of the Day (1989) and Never Let Me Go (2005), wins $1.1 million.

The academy said his books   show   “great emotional force” and  uncover   “the abyss under our illusory sense of relationship with the world.”  

In Ishiguro’s Latest work, The Buried Giant (2015), an Older couple go on a

Road trip through an English landscape, hoping to return. The novel movingly explores  fantasy to reality, background to the current — and how memory relates into oblivion.  

Ishiguro was born at Nagasaki, Japan in 1954. His family moved to Britain when he was five-years-old and he returned to see his country of birth just as an adult.  

Ishiguro’s win will be looked at by most in the publishing world as a choice by the academy following year, in one of the decisions in the trophy’s history, American singer and poet.

The Swedish Academy said Dylan won “for having created fresh poetic expressions over the great American song tradition” However, lengthy discussion was sparked by the decision, such as about whether song lyrics should be qualified from Dylan himself.

Among the top contenders preferred by bookmakers this year were: Japan’s Haruki Murakami, 68, whose novels   fuse the realistic and the fantastic, and Kenya’s Ngugi wa Thiong’o, 79, whose political perform forced him to leave Africa for the United States.

The Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded 110 occasions to 114 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2017. In 2015, the Academy made an choice in giving the award to Belarus’ Svetlana Alexievich. Her journalism and non-fiction works explore topics related to the rest of the Soviet Union.

Alfred Nobel’s prescriptions for the prize   were vague. He said it should go annually to “the most outstanding work in an ideal direction.”

The prize has been won by only 14 women. On four occasions, the award was shared between two  individuals. The youngest laureate was Rudyard Kipling the oldest. She was 88 when she won the trophy.  

Joachim Frank, Richard Henderson and Jacques Dubochet, three researchers based at the U.S., U.K. and Switzerland, respectively, won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry on Wednesday for Improvements in electron microscopy.

The medicine prize went to three Americans studying circadian rhythms: Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young. The physics prize went to Rainer Weiss, Barry Barish and Kip Thorne for detecting gravitational waves. The peace prize is going to be announced.

The awarding of this peace prize comes amid disagreement about whether Aung San Suu Kyi — that won the prize should be stripped of their honour. The leader of Myanmar has drawn international condemnation because of the defense of the country’s treatment of its own Rohingya population, a minority group.

Rohingya have been fleeing Myanmar in the thousands for Bangladesh. The United Nations has characterized Myanmar’s treatment of Rohingya as a “textbook case of ethnic cleansing.”

For the peace prize, President Trump has been nominated for the second year in a row. Any person or organization may be nominated by anyone qualified to nominate.

Eligible nominators, according to the academy, include but aren’t limited to: university chancellors, professors of social and political science and other disciplines; leaders of peace research institutes; members of national assemblies, governments, and global courts of law; and previous Nobel peace prize laureates.